Setting Out

Thanks for checking out my blog. I’m a rank beginner, so feel free to suggest ways to make this better on both ends of this exchange.

Not only am I getting my feet wet in the blogosphere, but I’m also preparing to head down (with a small team from my church) to Quito, Ecuador next week to work with Extreme Response. Here’s a visual synopsis:

I’m split. Part of me is chomping at the bit to jump on the plane; my passport is still shiny and new and my head and heart are just screaming, “go, go, go, go, go, go, NOW!!!” The other part of me is scared – not of the trip, exactly – but of the homecoming.I don’t think I have any right to talk much about what I think I know about the situation down there; I’m sure I can’t fathom how proudly and beautifully they bear the image of God, and even the glimpse through the video is an understatement. These people live in and off of trash, trash that’s been picked over once or twice before most likely, and I’m stumbling around here, crowded out by the glut of blessings and beauty in my life….

….what will my world look like two weeks hence? Post – Ecuador, I think I’ll be rattled.

….what could I possibly have to give down there? Anything would be helpful,  yet nothing, I think, is going to compare to what I’ll learn from those people.

But in the meantime, we’ll try to throw ’em a big Christmas party. We’ll play games and paint faces and give out prizes and toys to the kids. The adults will get family pictures made (Polaroids portraits for the year, usually), and bags of basic food items.

I’ll lift heavy stuff and take pictures and try to hug as many folks as will let me.

And I’ll pray. A lot. And if you’re reading this right now, I’d like to ask you to pray, too. Pray for our trip, and pray for the people in the Quito dump. Pray that they want to be followers and lovers of Jesus. Pray for health and safety and laughter and the four Spanish words I think I can remember.

Thanks for reading. Check back soon, as I’ll be pushing the blog learning curve and trying to give y’all reports throughout my trip.

Oh yeah; here’s a passage that’s been on my heart lately. It’s 1 Thessalonians 5:16 – 18(NLT): “Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.”

More on this later. Probably much more.

–b

3 thoughts on “Setting Out

  1. Bill,

    Great start to your blog. Just love on all those people down there and let God do the rest.

    We will be praying for you!

    Have a great time!!!

    Chuck

Leave a Reply

